The Bump Car Effect

We remember people through the words they say that left a great recall in our minds.

(Photo courtesy of Google)

It’s my first day to teach one section of Tourism students. We were already starting the activity when one student arrived late in class, I asked him why he was late and he answered, “Miss, there’s a bump car.” with his serious face trying to get the message across. So I sarcastically replied trying my best not to laugh, “What bump car?! Were you in an amusement park earlier?” trying to break the wall of the conversation, the entire class laughed. I got his message that what he meant was there was a car accident along the way that caused his delay. From that day on, I tagged their section as the “Bump Car” section.

The first day of the class went well, there had been an active participation from the students and I can see in their eyes their desire to improve themselves, which inspired me to teach them beyond what is required. They ask questions that gave me a hint that they’re interested with my subject. Every meeting, I tease the class of the bump cars. Before the class ends, I suddenly thought of relating the bump car-driving experience to real life.

One lesson that is hard to teach in my class is confidence. I always tell them that even if I spend 180 hours talking in front and giving them tips on how to gain it, everything will be pointless if they don’t have the willingness and commitment to improve. For me, confidence can be improved through consistent practice anchored on positive mindset and self-trust.

The panoramic view at the back row where I am seated. (Taken while my students are presenting in front)
The panoramic view at the back row where I am seated. (Taken while my students are presenting in front)

Whenever I am in class, I always sit at the back row, observing and listening to what my students want to say. The tables had turned. As I go on with my everyday teaching, I realized that the best place in the classroom for teachers is at the back. As an educator, I realized the importance of relegating at the back seat, appreciating the individuality of the students, searching for their potential, bringing it out I them, and making them feel appreciated.

According to Amusement Park Physics, when bumper cars collide, the drivers feel a change in their motion and become aware of their inertia. I want to liken the bump car effect to ourselves. Whenever we encounter someone it’s should be our goal to enter their hearts and leave an impact that will make them aware of their potentials.

Nothing in this world is permanent. Things change, people come and go. There are times that we need to leave something not because we want to but the situation tells us to do so.  The days will pass by really fast. I realized that the length of time you have been with people isn’t a big factor, what matters is the impact and inspiration that you left in their hearts with a short span of time.

The "Bump Car" section. Siena College of Taytay - TM2 Group B
The “Bump Car” section.
Siena College of Taytay – TM2 Group B

 

20140818_135100

I am hoping a bright future ahead of you, young people. Keep that burning desire in your heart to learn and improve. Don’t be afraid to dream big dreams. You are never too young to be used by God to change the world. God bless you all! 

Leave a Reply

