Escape from the Labyrinth

Synonyms are the best alternative when you want to express a word with a more appeal and depth. It refrains you from reiterating simple words and add impact to its meaning.

Labyrinth. I first heard of this word in lit class when I was in second year highschool, the Myth of Daedalus and Icarus. I immediately browsed the dictionary for its meaning and it’s defined as, “a path that has many confusing paths or passages”.

Daedalus is a talented architect from the royal family of Cecrops, the mythical first king of Athens. Daedalus was tasked to create a labyrinth to imprison the Minotaur. Yet at the latter part of the myth, Daedalus revealed the mystery of the labyrinth to Theusus that triggered King Minos to imprison Daedalus and his son, Icarus in the labyrinth. 

Daedalus helped Icarus escape by giving him a man-made wings that enabled him to fly.

 That was how the mystery of the labyrinth was resolved. That was how Icarus found his way out.

Another remarkable encounter with The Labyrinth was through Alaska Young in John Green’s book, Looking for Alaska. She said, “the only way to escape from the labyrinth of suffering is to forgive.”. However, Alaska escaped the labyrinth straight at fast through a car accident that led to her tragic death.

We are all inside our own labyrinths and we have to find our way out. The question is how?Do we become an Icarus, lift our wings and fly? Or do we become an Alaska Young, escape straight and fast and die?

I am in a labyrinth. Six years ago, on my first year in the University I thought life was simple. Surviving college and getting a diploma was easy. Goals were clear. Targets were achievable. Decision-making was less complicated. Fear was a stranger to me. Courage was overflowing, getting up after a failure was quick. I was completely out of the labyrinth. 

Six years after, I found myself trapped in a labyrinth. Dreams seem to be unreachable. Internal battle is on fire. Fear is a frequent visitor. This is my labyrinth — the Labyrinth of Uncertainty. 

The world offers a wide range of options. It’s challenging to try and risk. There is a dillema between pursuing new things and playing safe in the comfort zone. Our reasons may push us to go outside, or just remain in our fence – in our own labyrinth. 

At night, I often dream about running away because I don’t want to get caught. Now I wonder, how do I find the exit of this labyrinth?

Finding my way out of the labyrinth.

At some point, I saw myself in the middle. Stiff and still. Then I realized that there must really be a way out of this labyrinth and the first step is to loosen up and find it.

The only way out of this trap is to start doing something about it. To make a decision — to step out. 

Leave a Reply

